Digital Scrapbooking

It’s the most wonderful time of the year…..

It’s that time of year again.  The best two weeks of the year.  The fortnight I spend 50 weeks waiting for. It’s Wimbledon!

I can’t remember when my love of tennis and Wimbledon, in particular, began. I know that when I was 3 years old, my Dad came home with a stuffed toy dog for me and I named her Tracy, after Tracy Austin…………it was the frilly knickers that I loved!  Through the years of growing up, I remember coming home from school and finding my Mum firmly ensconced on the sofa in front of the TV.  I would always ask who was winning and she would always reply “Noone at the moment”.  It’s still a standing joke with us now.  Back then, I didn’t understand that someone doesn’t actually have to be in the lead.

As the years progressed, my understanding of the game grew and my love for the game grew even more.  Every year, I’d take a week off work and I’ve been lucky enough to go to the Championships three times now and to see some of the greats play. I have many highlights and memories from the hundreds of matches I’ve seen……Andy Murray winning being one of them, obviously, but the greatest day was when Goran Ivanisevic finally won the tournament on his fourth attempt in 2001.  Rain delays meant so many breaks in play that the final, that year, was held on a Monday.  All tickets were sold to the general public so the atmosphere was electric.  I was gutted that I had to work that day but the match started at 12.15pm so I managed to watch quite a bit during my lunch hour (well, hour and a half!).  At 4pm, I ran out of the office, jumped in my car, didn’t switch the radio on and drove home as quick as I legally could.  I re-wound the video (yes, we were still using videos back then!) and settled in to experience the most nerve-wracking match I had ever seen! Five sets of rollercoaster emotion but, eventually, at 8-7 in the fifth, Goran came through and was crowned champion!

Yesterday, they reran the whole match on the BBC. It was beautiful outside but I couldn’t drag myself away.  Even knowing the result, I still thought that Pat Rafter may win instead, this time!

So, of course, I had to scrap a picture of Wimbledon – my album wouldn’t be complete without one.  I’ve been trying lots of blending techniques lately, trying to get to grips with clipping masks etc and this layout is an attempt to lift a similar page I had seen on http://www.designerdigitals.com – I tried to use the grids and stitching as a representation of the net. The journalling I “borrowed” from the great Sue Barker………..this was the speech she gave as she introduced play on the first day this year.

Wimbledon

Leave a Reply

