Sewing

THE BETTY BLOUSE

With my first copy of Simply Sewing Magazine,  I received a copy of their own design, the Betty Blouse. Betty is a beginners pattern and I’m a beginner so I couldn’t wait to have a go!

I chose some lightweight cotton from my local shop, Truro Fabrics. I loved the paisley print and it was only £5 a metre. I measured up at  38″ chest, a medium. The pattern said I would require 2 metres – it looked loads and it was, I managed to cut the blouse out of a metre. Oh well, I have a metre left for something else!!

I was worried the pintucks would be complicated but they weren’t, just a bit fiddly but using a water soluble pen and a quilting ruler to draw the lines made it quite easy.

Once the pintucks were done, the rest of the blouse came together easily. After all, it’s just shoulder seams and side seams.

I tried to add my own touch by topstitching using a variegated thread.

Was it true to size? Hmm, I cut a medium and I think it’s just a touch too big. Also, I’m quite long in the body and, if I was to make the Betty Blouse again, it would add 2 or 3 inches.

What were the challenges? The only thing is struggled with was the bias binding around the neck but I think that’s because I was a first timer!!

Would I make it again? Yes!!

Until next time, friends……Jenny

4 thoughts on “THE BETTY BLOUSE

  1. I’ve just opened up this pattern to take a look and thought I’d check some reviews first, yours is adorable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

