Sewing

Laurel Dress/Tunic by Green Style Creations

Yesterday evening I thought I’d have a look at the changes that had been made to Craftsy. I occasionally have a look at the site for inspiration but have never bought anything simply because I am, generally, put off by pdf patterns. However,  this tunic by Green Style Creations really caught my eye because it’s exactly the sort of thing I love to wear!

At $10, which is just over £7, I did um and ah for a while over whether that was too much to pay for a pattern but it did say there were several length options for the sleeves and the dress itself and I had the PERFECT fabric just sitting in my stash just waiting to be used in my first foray into knits so I took the plunge!!! I’ve since discovered that Greenstyle has its own website and there is a freebie add on for this dress with instructions on how to make a bigger cowl and how to bind the neck if you don’t have a cowl so, overall, at least 8 variations. 

With the pattern downloaded, I printed off the pattern pieces. There were 22 pages in all, so not a massive amount, and it didn’t take long to tape together. With so many options for this pattern, it’s wise to trace the pattern off rather than cutting up your pdf print out. I’m glad I did as I now want to make loads of different variations but I definitely don’t want to be taping together 22 pages every time!!

There isn’t really an awful lot to say about the construction process…..It was simple and the instructions are very clear. The pattern allows you to have pleats front and back or just on the front – I went with just at the front. I used a ballpoint needle and a straight stretch stitch. I have already asked Father Christmas for an overlocker this year and my first experience with knits makes me want one even more….not that it was hard without one but, as I was sewing, I kept imagining all my beautifully overlocked seams…..can’t wait!!

I cut a medium for my 38 inch chest and it fits perfectly around the bust but seems loose around the back.

This is probably because although I have more than ample boobage, I am only a size 10 and a 30 inch underbust. I wonder if I could fix it by cutting a small size back? If not, next time, I might add some ties as I actually like quite an accentuated empire line.

The pattern comes with pockets but I omitted them as I’m not really a pocket girl when it comes to dresses or tunics but handy to have the option if you want it.

From cutting to finished, this took me about 4 hours so this really is a quick, achievable beginners project.

The fabric came from Fabworks and is a lightweight polycotton jersey at £5 per metre. I love their site, so much to choose from and I can’t wait to get back on there to choose another knit to make a different version of Laurel.

 Have you made a Laurel? I’d love to see your variation…..There must be a few combos or hacks I haven’t thought of.

Until next time, friends…….

One thought on “Laurel Dress/Tunic by Green Style Creations

Leave a Reply

